Social Security Administration Announces 25 New “Compassionate Allowances” Conditions

While Social Security Disability Benefits can make all the difference in maintaining a family’s lifestyle when an individual under 65 develops a debilitating condition, it often takes months, or even years, before an applicant receives the determination of disability necessary to be awarded those benefits.

The Social Security Compassionate Allowances program expedites the determination of disability for individuals with certain specified conditions, so that they can receive disability benefits within weeks. The list of conditions, including twelve types of cancer, announced this year by the Acting Commissioner of Social Security brings the total number of Compassionate Allowance conditions to 225. The new conditions are:

  1. Angiosarcoma
  2. Atypical Teratoid/Rhabdoid Tumor
  3. Chronic Idiopathic Intestinal Pseudo Obstruction
  4. Coffin- Lowry Syndrome
  5. Esthesioneuroblastoma
  6. Giant Axonal Neuropathy
  7. Hoyeaal-Hreidarsson Syndrome
  8. Intracranial Hemangiopericytoma
  9. Joubert Syndrome
  10. Leptomeningeal Carcinomatosis
  11. Liposarcoma- metastatic or recurrent
  12. Malignant Ectomesenchymoma
  13. Malignant Renal Rhabdoid Tumor
  14. Marshall-Smith Syndrome
  15. Oligodendroglioma Brain Tumor- Grade III
  16. Pallister-Killian Syndrome
  17. Progressive Bulbar Palsy
  18. Prostate Cancer – Hormone Refractory Disease – or with visceral metastases
  19. Revesz Syndrome
  20. Seckel Syndrome
  21. Sjogren-Larsson Syndrome
  22. Small Cell Cancer of the Thymus
  23. Soft Tissue Sarcoma- with distant metastases or recurrent
  24. X-Linked Lymphoproliferative Disease
  25. X-Linked Myotubular Myopathy

For more information on the program, including a list of all Compassionate Allowances conditions, please visit

Speak Your Mind